Types of Yoga


  • Description
  • Background
  • Theory
  • Research

Ashtanga Yoga is so much more than exercise. It’s a philosophy & mindset that gets you away from daily worries & focused on the big picture. The practice involves a dynamic, flowing sequence of poses synchronised to your breath, gaze & muscle contractions.


The body heat generated is thought to purify the body, nervous system & mind. Ashtanga caters to all skill levels as the goal is about maintaining an internal focus throughout the class. Aside from the amazing fitness benefits of regular practice, Astanga Yoga transforms your physical & mental health.

Ashtanga Yoga is a beautiful, ancient, scientific practice taught by Vamana Rishi in the Yoga Korunta, a manuscript capturing various asanas & teachings. The text was passed down to Sri T. Krishnamacharya in the early 1900’s by his Guru Rama Mohan Brahmachari, who imparted the wisdom to Ashtanga yoga Guru Pattabhi Jois who often said, “Yoga is 99% practice, 1% theory”.

Ashtanga Yoga is based upon the eight limbs of yoga mentioned in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali:

1. Yama – Principles or moral code

2. Niyama – Personal discipline

3. Asana – Yoga postures

4. Pranayama – Breathing

5. Pratyahara – Withdrawal of senses

6. Dharana – Concentration on object

7. Dhyan – Meditation

8. Samadhi - Salvation

Results for Ashtanga

  • Health Insurance Rebate ?
    See your potential rebate. Check our T&C's for more info.
  • Price
  • Distance
    0 km0 km50+ km
  • Deals
  •   ?
    Log in to view your favorites.

Note: MojoGuru does not recommend any treatment, therapy or particular provider. We do not recommend that you self-diagnose. If you are suffering from a health condition and before starting a new treatment or therapy, we do recommend that you first consult a GP. More